03
Nov
16

Bread That Satisfies

John 6:30-40 (NIV)

So they asked him, “What sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do? 31 Our ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness; as it is written: ‘He gave them bread from heaven to eat.’”
32 Jesus said to them, “Very truly I tell you, it is not Moses who has given you the bread from heaven, but it is my Father who gives you the true bread from heaven. 33 For the bread of God is the bread that comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”
34 “Sir,” they said, “always give us this bread.”
35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.36 But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. 37 All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. 38 For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. 40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

Bread is a staple of our diets. For thousands of years people have been baking and eating bread in various forms. There’s nothing like the smell of a fresh loaf of bread baking in the oven. Whether it is naan from India, tortillas from Mexico, French baguettes or pumpernickel, rye or good old fashioned white bread, we love our bread. Hot dogs and hamburgers don’t taste the same without a bun. I’m on a paleo diet at the present time and I recently ate a hamburger with no bun. It was wrapped in lettuce. Believe me, it wasn’t the same.

When Jesus says that He is the bread of life in John 6, He isn’t talking about being a loaf of bread. He’s talking about being the very staple of our lives. He is the One to whom we can turn to find satisfaction for our soul’s hunger. He is the spiritual food that our souls crave. Too often we try to do things on our own and go carb-free. Without this bread, our souls will be malnourished. They will starve. We need the bread of life.

God’s will is that we will never go hungry or thirsty again. There’s only One who can offer living water and the bread of life that satisfies. His name is Jesus. When you experience spiritual hunger pangs, remember that Jesus is waiting for you to turn to Him. He will feed you with His Word and satisfy your heart and soul with His love and grace. Believe Him and believe in Him and find the bread for which your soul is begging.

PRAYER: Thank You, Father, for sending Jesus into the world as the bread of life. Thank You, Lord Jesus, for satisfying the hunger of my heart and soul. Fill me today with Yourself. I need the bread and water that only You can offer. In Your name, amen.

0 Responses to “Bread That Satisfies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

