20
Oct
16

Hanging Out With The Wise

If we take a look at Proverbs 13, there is an important question to ask ourselves.  Who are we walking with?  In verse 20, Solomon says:

He who walks with the wise grows wise,
but a companion of fools suffers harm. (Proverbs 13:20, NIV)

If you hang out with wise people, you will grow in wisdom.  If you hang out with fools, you will do foolish things.  So who are your friends?  Who do you hang out with?  People will rub off on you.  If you hang out with people who get drunk all the time, at some point you may join them.  If you hang out with people who swear and curse, you are more likely to pick up on their habits.  This can go for those you hang out with or those you date and marry.  If you are a Christian, you have to ask yourself a question.  Will this relationship bring me closer to Christ or push me away from Christ?  Will this friendship help me grow in faith and wisdom or will it bring me harm?  It’s a tough choice.  We like our friends and we like our boyfriend/girlfriend.  But is the relationship beneficial or detrimental to your spiritual growth?  Which relationship will last longer: your relationship with your drinking buddies or your relationship with Christ?  It’s a lot to think about and it may mean some hard choices, but Solomon is right when he says that ultimately, “a companion of fools suffers harm”
PRAYER: Father, grant me wisdom when it comes to my relationships. I want to grow in my relationship with You first and foremost. Help me to be a better friend and to know which friends will help me grow closer to You. I thank You for the people in my life who help me grow in faith. Amen.
0 Responses to “Hanging Out With The Wise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

