10
Oct
16

Showing Jesus To The World

John 5:31-40 (NIV)

“If I testify about myself, my testimony is not true. 32 There is another who testifies in my favor, and I know that his testimony about me is true.
33 “You have sent to John and he has testified to the truth. 34 Not that I accept human testimony; but I mention it that you may be saved.35 John was a lamp that burned and gave light, and you chose for a time to enjoy his light.
36 “I have testimony weightier than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to finish—the very works that I am doing—testify that the Father has sent me. 37 And the Father who sent me has himself testified concerning me. You have never heard his voice nor seen his form, 38 nor does his word dwell in you, for you do not believe the one he sent. 39 You study the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me to have life.

Jesus had the testimony of two witnesses to verify His identity as the Christ, the Son of God. John the Baptist testified that Jesus was the Lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world. The other witness was God the Father who, at Jesus’ baptism, said from Heaven, “This is my Son, whom I love…” (Matthew 3:17, NIV). Not only that, but God the Father was testifying to Jesus’ identity as the Messiah by the miraculous works Jesus was performing. Only the Messiah could do the things that Jesus did. 

The religious leaders of Jesus’ day were diligently searching the Scriptures. They were looking for the Messiah, yet He was right there in their presence. They didn’t understand that Jesus was the one about whom Moses wrote in the Old Testament. They searched the law of Moses to find some kind of way to be saved and yet salvation had come to them in the form of Jesus. 

People haven’t changed much in nearly 2,000 years. We still look for ways to be saved. We’ll search and search for a savior and all the while, Jesus is reaching out through His Word and His church. The Bible still testifies to the identity of the Savior. Jesus’ people have countless stories of how He has changed their lives. But the world still searches and somehow misses Him. The challenge for followers of Jesus is to show the world His love so that many more will hear and believe and experience the life transforming power of Jesus.

PRAYER: Father God, we pray today that You would show the world Your Son and Your love through Your people. Help us to show people how much You love us and how You demonstrated it by sending Jesus. In His name, amen.

0 Responses to “Showing Jesus To The World”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

