12
Sep
16

Enough For Today

…give me neither poverty nor riches,
but give me only my daily bread.
Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
and say, `Who is the LORD?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
and so dishonor the name of my God. — Proverbs 30:8b-9 (NIV)
Give us today our daily bread. — Matthew 6:11 (NIV)
“Why can’t I seem to get ahead?”  Has this question ever haunted you?  Do you ever wonder why life seems to be such a struggle?  Why do some people have so much and others (like us) have so little?  We think to ourselves, if I could just save up $5,000 or $10,000, then I would be doing alright.  If I could just make a few dollars more an hour or a few thousand more dollars a year, I would be fine.  I just want to have enough for a rainy day.  “Why can’t I seem to get ahead?”
In the two Scripture passages above, I find a principle at work that is so important.  While it is not explicitly said, it is inherent.  With God there are no rainy days.  In the passage from Proverbs, the writer asks only for his daily bread.  Give me enough for today.  Jesus told us to pray for our daily bread in The Lord’s Prayer.  We need to learn to depend on God today for today’s needs.  Later in the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus said that we should not worry about tomorrow for tomorrow has enough worries of its own.  Focus on today.  Trust God today.  Is there anything wrong with a savings account?  Is there anything wrong with a retirement fund?  Not at all!  Unless we have more faith and trust in First Financial Institution or Mr. Mutual Fund than we do in God to provide our daily bread.  He has promised to provide for today if we will ask for today.  He clothes the flowers and feeds the birds each day.  To our Heavenly Father, we are much more valuable than them (Matthew 6:26, NIV).
PRAYER: Father God, help me to trust You today to provide all that I need. I know that You are watching over me and that You know what I need before I even ask You. Thank You for loving me. Amen.
0 Responses to “Enough For Today”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

