25
Aug
16

Jesus > Me

John 3:27-30 (NIV)

To this John replied, “A person can receive only what is given them from heaven. 28 You yourselves can testify that I said, ‘I am not the Messiah but am sent ahead of him.’ 29 The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice. That joy is mine, and it is now complete. 30 He must become greater; I must become less.”

 
John the Baptist’s perspective on his role in the ministry of Jesus is amazing. He understood his place in the world and it didn’t bother him one bit. He knew that he was not the Messiah. He knew that his life was not about himself. The purpose of his life was to point people to Jesus. Not only did he accept his God-given role, but he found joy in it. His life was not his own. Everything was about Jesus.
The same should be said of us. Can we say that the purpose of our lives is to point people to Jesus? Can we, along with John, say that He is becoming greater and we are becoming less? We spend so much time in self-promotion that we forget that this life is not about us. It’s all about Jesus. He is the King. He is the Lord. He is everything. When we come to the understanding that this life is not about us we will discover true joy. Life is about Jesus and promoting Him so that others will find life in His name.
PRAYER: Heavenly Father, I want Jesus to become greater in my life and I want me to become less. Help me to overcome the temptation to make this life all about me. I confess that this is hard and that I often look out for my own desires than I do for Yours. Thank You for forgiving me through Your Son. In His name, amen.
0 Responses to “Jesus > Me”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

