17
Aug
16

Creator Of Light

And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. — Genesis 1:3 (NIV)
Could you imagine a world without light?  The fact that there is light is taken for granted.  Whether natural or artificial, we have had light since the very beginning of Creation.  It was the very first thing that God created.  Genesis says that there was darkness everywhere and then God spoke light into being.  Light was separated from darkness and the first day came to an end.
I think about those words “he separated the light from the darkness” (Genesis 1:4, NIV) and my own life.  I have been given a different kind of light.  I have been given what the Gospel writer John calls the life that is “the light of men” (John 1:4, NIV).  Jesus Christ is that light and through God’s grace, I have that light living in me.  Have I separated myself from the darkness?  God has filled my heart with light and yet I still have dark places within me.  I must do better at allowing the light of Christ to do away with the darkness.
Think about the dark places in your soul for a moment.  Where are those dark places?  What is keeping you from allowing Christ’s light to shine in those places?  Ask the Creator and Giver of light to shine the light of Jesus in your life today.
PRAYER: Heavenly Father, please shine Your light in me and through me today. I want to shine the light of Jesus into the darkest places of our world. I need You to shine the light of Jesus into the darkest places of my life that I may repent and become more like Him. Thank You for calling me into the light of Your grace, amen.
0 Responses to “Creator Of Light”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

