27
Jul
16

Jesus: The Lamb Of God

John 1:29-34 (NIV)

The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! 30 This is the one I meant when I said, ‘A man who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.’ 31 I myself did not know him, but the reason I came baptizing with water was that he might be revealed to Israel.”
32 Then John gave this testimony: “I saw the Spirit come down from heaven as a dove and remain on him. 33 And I myself did not know him, but the one who sent me to baptize with water told me, ‘The man on whom you see the Spirit come down and remain is the one who will baptize with the Holy Spirit.’ 34 I have seen and I testify that this is God’s Chosen One.”

Jesus is the only One who can take away the sins of the world. He is the Chosen One of God to wash away our sinfulness. We are all sinners and have fallen short of God’s glorious plan and purpose for our lives.
We lust and lie.
We cheat and steal.
We injure and kill.
We puff ourselves up with pride and curse others behind their backs.
We are quite wretched and wicked.
But God chose to save us by sending His Son as the unblemished, sacrificial Lamb who can take away the sin of us all.
Don’t think for a moment that any of us deserve it.
From the pastor and the preacher to the parishioners and the pew-sitters to the pagans and the persecutors, none of us are righteous despite our own beliefs that we are somehow deserving of forgiveness.  No one is worthy and yet God desires to forgive us all so that He might have a relationship with us based on grace and mercy.  When you look at the mess we’ve made of His world, you may wonder, “Why would He want anything to do with us at all?” The answer is simple…He loves us. It’s more than simple attraction of infatuation. He chooses to love us in spite of our wickedness. So much so that He did something about it. He became like us so that He could die for us in order to bring us to Himself.
That, my friends, is the perfect love of God expressed in Jesus Christ, His Son.
PRAYER: Heavenly Father, thank You for loving me. Thank You for sending Jesus to save me and wash away my sin. I want to live for you today by loving and serving others. I don’t want to take Your love and grace for granted. Forgive me when I do. In Jesus’ name, amen.
0 Responses to “Jesus: The Lamb Of God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

