28
Jun
16

Making Jesus Celebrate

Luke 15:8-10 (NIV)
The Parable of the Lost Coin
8 “Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Doesn’t she light a lamp, sweep the house and search carefully until she finds it? 9 And when she finds it, she calls her friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’ 10 In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

If you make $60,000 per year, that works out to be about $1150.00 per week.  If you work five days per week, that works about to be about $230.00 per workday.  Now imagine that you had ten days worth of wages (about $2300.00) in cash at your house.  It is a combination of $100 bills and $50 bills.  You go to the bank to deposit that money and you fill out your deposit slip and take the money to the teller at the counter.  He or she counts the money and lo and behold, there is $250.00 missing!  Two Benjamins and a Grant are missing!  You think to yourself, “No big deal.  It’s just $250.00.  I’ve got $2,050.00 more here that I’ll deposit.  Everything will be fine.”  Right?  Wrong!
Your reaction is probably more like mine would be!  “What?!?  Where could they have gone?!?  Did someone steal $250.00 from me?  Did the bills fall out when I pulled the money out of my pocket?  Did they get separated from their friends at the house?  Where could this money be?”  You would ask the teller to count it again.  You would search the floor of the bank.  You would go out and search your car.  You would run home and search the house.  You would go through every pocket in every pair or pants or shirt you had worn since you got the money!  You’ve got to find that $250.00!
I once lost a decent sum of cash that I was going to deposit at the bank (which is why I don’t carry cash!).  Do you know what I did when I got to the bank and the money wasn’t where I had put it?  First, I prayed and asked God to show me where it went.  Then I tore everything apart until I found it!  My heart was racing and I was scared!  I thank God that I found it within about 30 minutes of discovering that it was missing.  It was in my car and fell out of my checkbook when I took it out of my pocket.
In The Parable of the Lost Coin, a woman loses the equivalent of a day’s wages.  She does what we would all do.  She searches for it until she finds it.  When she does, she celebrates.  This parable goes hand in hand with The Parable of the Lost Sheep.  Something valuable is missing and worth searching for until it is found.  Once it is found, a celebration takes place.
The sinners that we deem unworthy of God’s grace are, in fact, very valuable to God.  So valuable that He gave His Son for them.  Jesus didn’t die for good Christian people like us.  He didn’t die for good people who needed a little cleaning up in their lives.  Jesus died for wretched, evil, vile sinners.  Sinners like us.  We may think that we’re doing okay.  We may believe that we just have a few bad habits that we can deal with eventually.  No!  We are wretched sinners full of wickedness and unrighteousness.  The good news is that Jesus loved us enough to die for sinners like us.  When we came to the point of repentance, Jesus celebrated with the angels!  Remember that there was a day when you caused Jesus to celebrate in Heaven.  If you don’t know Jesus as your Savior, you really need to cause a celebration in Heaven by trusting Him for salvation.  If you will believe in Him, repent from your sins, confess Him as Savior and be baptized, He will save you and forgive you and celebrate you with the angels!
PRAYER: Father, help me to see people who you see people. Help me to see their value to You and Your Son, Jesus. Thank You for loving me so much to send Jesus to die to take away my sins. Thank You for Your forgiveness. Amen.
0 Responses to “Making Jesus Celebrate”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

