24
Jun
16

“I Have Sinned…”

Create in me a pure heart, O God,

and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me from your presence
or take your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation
and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. — (Psalm 51:10-12, NIV)

After committing adultery with Bathsheba and murdering her husband, Uriah, David was caught in his sin.  Accused of the crime by the prophet Nathan, David confessed simply, “I have sinned against the LORD.”  He did not try to cover it up or pass the buck.  He admitted his sin and sometime later he penned Psalm 51.

David knew that sin has consequences.  His heart had been damaged and he needed God to give him a new one.  His spirit was weak and he needed it to be renewed with strength.  His fellowship with God had been broken and he needed to sense the intimacy he had had with God previously.  He longed for the Holy Spirit’s comforting presence.  His joy was gone, replaced by guilt over his sin.  Finally, he asks for a spirit that is surrendered to the will of God.

How does the knowledge of your sin affect you?  Do you carry around a burden of guilt when you have sinned against the Lord?  Does your spirit seem crushed and broken?  Is your fellowship with Jesus disturbed?  Do you lose the joy of life and salvation?  Does Psalm 51 resonate with you?  Take heart, my friends!  Jesus died to forgive our sins and joy, fellowship and refreshment are only a step away.  Confess your sin to the Lord, knowing that He is faithful and has forgiven you for every sinful thought, word and deed.  May we never take His grace for granted and may we always be willing to repent.
PRAYER: Father God, I have sinned against You time and time again. I have sinned against You in word, thought and deed. I am in need of Your mercy today. Do not treat me as my sins deserve. Heal my broken heart and spirit. Fill me with the joy of Your salvation today. Thank You for forgiving me over and over again. In Jesus’ saving name I pray, amen.
0 Responses to ““I Have Sinned…””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

