16
Jun
16

Sleep In Peace

Psalm 4 (NLT)

For the choir director: A psalm of David, to be accompanied by stringed instruments.

Answer me when I call to you,
O God who declares me innocent.
Free me from my troubles.
Have mercy on me and hear my prayer.

How long will you people ruin my reputation?
How long will you make groundless accusations?
How long will you continue your lies? Interlude
You can be sure of this:
The Lord set apart the godly for himself.
The Lord will answer when I call to him.

Don’t sin by letting anger control you.
Think about it overnight and remain silent. Interlude
Offer sacrifices in the right spirit,
and trust the Lord.

Many people say, “Who will show us better times?”
Let your face smile on us, Lord.
You have given me greater joy
than those who have abundant harvests of grain and new wine.
In peace I will lie down and sleep,
for you alone, O Lord, will keep me safe.  – Psalm 4 (NLT)

Psalm 4 is a psalm of David that is a plea to God to hear David in his time of trouble.  The first 2 verses are a prayer to God.  The next 4 1/2 verses are directed toward God’s people.  The psalm then ends with a continuation of David’s prayer.  I wonder if those middle verses aren’t just directed toward God’s people.  I wonder if David was reminding himself of those principles regarding anger and trust.  It would have been easy for David to be angry over his situation regarding his enemies.  As the king of Israel, David would have had many enemies.  So rather than getting angry over the situation or losing faith in God, David reminds himself that if he lives a godly life, God will answer his prayer.  The Hebrew word for godly literally means faithful or loyal.
There is one other thing that stands out to me about this psalm.  David begins in distress and ends in peace.  The psalm begins in an almost panic over his enemies.  But it ends with joy and peace.  David says that he has more joy than those who are very wealthy.  And though he feels trapped by his troubles, he will sleep in peace because he knows that the Lord will keep him safe.
My prayer for you today is that no matter what troubles you may be going through, may God give you rest.  You may feel trapped by your troubles or stuck in your situation, but know that God is watching over you and will keep you safe.  May that peace that passes understanding (Philippians 4:7) settle your heart and give you the ability to rest in the Lord.
PRAYER: Lord, I cannot sleep in peace unless that peace comes from You. Keep me and my loved ones safe and secure in Your arms. I need Your peace in my life today. Help me to not worry about tomorrow, but instead to live in Your love today. In Jesus’ name, amen.
0 Responses to “Sleep In Peace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

