03
May
16

God Is Your Protector

Zechariah 2:1-5 (NIV)

Then I looked up, and there before me was a man with a measuring line in his hand. 2 I asked, “Where are you going?”

He answered me, “To measure Jerusalem, to find out how wide and how long it is.”

3 While the angel who was speaking to me was leaving, another angel came to meet him 4 and said to him: “Run, tell that young man, ‘Jerusalem will be a city without walls because of the great number of people and animals in it. 5 And I myself will be a wall of fire around it,’ declares the Lord, ‘and I will be its glory within.’

 

A city without walls! The vision Zechariah was seeing was a city so large that they couldn’t build walls around it. There would be so many people within the city that only God could be the protector of the city. It reminds me of the final scene of Revelation where John sees a vision of a city where God dwells among His people.

God is referred to in Scripture, particularly in the Psalms, as our shield and refuge. He is our protector and our strength. He is the One who guides us and guards us. Psalm 20:7 (NIV) says:

Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
    but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.

God is a powerful protector of His people. We have to fear no one and nothing in this life. God’s Spirit dwells within us. He will strengthen and save us. No matter what situations arise, God is with us. No matter what persecution may come, God will save us by His grace. He will take us to that city where He dwells eternally with His people. This life is not all that there is. So take heart in your struggles and trials. God sees you and knows what you are going through. May He give you strength to face the difficulties of the days ahead. May He fill you with the hope of Jesus as you face fear and uncertainty. May He remind you often that He is with you and He will neither leave you nor abandon you.

PRAYER: O Father, how I need Your presence in my life today. Protect me as I move about through my day. Remind me of Your love and give me strength to persevere through the hard times that will come. Amen.

0 Responses to “God Is Your Protector”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

