15
Apr
16

Everybody’s Got A Story

One of the things that I have learned over the years is that everyone has a story.  There is a fictional book of the Bible that I (and many other pastors) like to quote.  It’s the book of Hezekiah.  It sounds Biblical, but there is no book of Hezekiah among the 66 books of Scripture.  I believe that if there were a book of Hezekiah, the very first words of chapter 1 would be, “Everybody’s got a story.”  Verse 2 would be, “Everybody’s got a thing.”  We’ve all got some kind of story to tell about where we’ve been and what we’ve done and how God has gotten us through the difficult times in our lives.
Psalm 107:2a (NIV) says:

Let the redeemed of the Lord tell their story…

The rest of Psalm 107 is about the stories of God’s people.  How God has done amazing things for those He has redeemed.
I want you to think about your story today.  From what past has God saved you?  From what danger and heartache has God kept you?  How has God come through and provided in your deepest times of emotional, physical or financial need?
You see, our stories really aren’t about us.  Our stories are about God and what He has done in us and for us.  So what is your story?  Everybody’s got one.  Says so right there in the good old book of Hezekiah.  Or, at least, it should.
PRAYER: Father in Heaven, I thank You for my life and my story. Thank You for helping me through the years. Thank You for keeping me from pain and heartache and trouble. Thank You for saving me by Your grace. Thank You for Jesus, my Savior and Friend. Amen.
0 Responses to “Everybody’s Got A Story”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

