24
Mar
16

Denial

Peter was so brave when his feet weren’t being held to the fire.  In the comfort and relative safety of the upper room Peter could say, “I’ll never deny You, Jesus!”  At the fire in the courtyard of the high priest’s house, he was far less brave.  When push came to shove, Peter cowered in fear.  When the pressure became too great, Peter buckled.  He denied knowing Jesus three times, just as Jesus had told him he would.  Perhaps the saddest part of the story is found in verses 61-62:

The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word the Lord had spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows today, you will disown me three times.” 62 And he went outside and wept bitterly.​ – Luke 22:61-62 (NIV)​

Would we have been any different?  Are we any different?  When it comes to standing up for our faith, are we any different than Peter?  Would we defend Jesus?  Would we identify ourselves as one of His followers?  Do we dare to live in a way that runs counter to our culture as a way of acknowledging Jesus?  Or do we deny Him with silence?  Do we deny Him with our lifestyles?  Is there enough evidence in your life to point to the fact that you are a follower of Jesus Christ?  Can people look at you and say, “She is one of His followers?”  Can they look at you and say, “I know that he has been with Him?”  Too often we’ll walk out the doors of the church building on a Sunday and spend the next 167 hours not giving Jesus a second thought.  We may not say, “I do not know the Man!” but our lives are screaming those words at the top of our lungs.  Let every word you utter and every thing you do today testify to the fact that you know Jesus and that He knows you.

Luke 22:54-62 (NIV)

54 Then seizing him, they led him away and took him into the house of the high priest. Peter followed at a distance. 55 And when some there had kindled a fire in the middle of the courtyard and had sat down together, Peter sat down with them. 56 A servant girl saw him seated there in the firelight. She looked closely at him and said, “This man was with him.”

57 But he denied it. “Woman, I don’t know him,” he said.

58 A little later someone else saw him and said, “You also are one of them.”

“Man, I am not!” Peter replied.

59 About an hour later another asserted, “Certainly this fellow was with him, for he is a Galilean.”

60 Peter replied, “Man, I don’t know what you’re talking about!” Just as he was speaking, the rooster crowed. 61 The Lord turned and looked straight at Peter. Then Peter remembered the word the Lord had spoken to him: “Before the rooster crows today, you will disown me three times.” 62 And he went outside and wept bitterly.

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, I am sorry for my own denial of Jesus.  I weep bitterly in my heart over my sins and transgressions.  I am filled with grief over the times in my life when I have failed to acknowledge Jesus with my lips and my lifestyle.  Forgive me for I am a sinner.  I ask this in Jesus’ name, amen.

0 Responses to “Denial”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

