15
Mar
16

Suffering Because Of Sin

O LORD, do not rebuke me in your anger
or discipline me in your wrath.
For your arrows have pierced me,
and your hand has come down upon me.
Because of your wrath there is no health in my body;
my bones have no soundness because of my sin.
My guilt has overwhelmed me
like a burden too heavy to bear.
My wounds fester and are loathsome
because of my sinful folly.

O LORD, do not forsake me;
be not far from me, O my God.
Come quickly to help me,
O Lord my Savior.  — Psalm 38:1-5, 21-22 (NIV)

How much of our suffering in life is caused by our sinful behavior?  Psalm 38 is a petition of David’s to the LORD to hear him and help him.  David was sickened by his guilt.  He was crushed by the weight of what he had done.  He does not tell us what he had done, but we know that he came to the realization that he had indeed sinned against God.  So what does David do?  He cries out to God for forgiveness.  There was only one cure for his suffering in body and spirit.  He needed God’s mercy.

The same thing goes for us.  When we sin against God, willfully or without thinking about it, guilt can wash over us when we realize the gravity of our situation.  It can be so easy to take God’s grace for granted.  “Oh, God’ll forgive me for this,” we tell ourselves.  “It’s not that big of a deal,” we say.  “At least I’m not committing this sin or that sin,” as though any one sin were worse than any other (sin is sin!).  We are all sinners who have sinned against God and others.  We need to seek God’s forgiveness on a daily basis with the knowledge (from Scripture) and hope (confident expectation, but not arrogance) that He will forgive us our many sins through the atoning sacrifice of His Son, Jesus Christ.  May we never take Christ’s sacrifice or God’s loving grace for granted.  May He forgive us when we do.

PRAYER: Father, forgive me when I take Your grace for granted.  I know that You have forgiven my many sins.  I am in need of your unfailing love and mercy.  Thank You for forgiving me time and time again.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

0 Responses to “Suffering Because Of Sin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

