07
Mar
16

Everything Lost

“But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ–the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith”  (Philippians 3:7-9, NIV).

This passage of Scripture follows Paul’s description of his own efforts at righteousness.  Paul listed off a number of things that would have made him righteous in God’s sight:

  • Circumcised on the 8th day (as the law required)
  • A Jew (one of God’s people)
  • A member of the tribe of Benjamin
  • A Hebrew among Hebrews
  • A Pharisee (highly respected by the Jews)
  • Persecutor of the Church (zealous for God)
  • Legalistic Perfection (followed all of the rules to the minutest detail)

One of the biggest problem with Paul’s way of thinking was that one cannot earn salvation by pedigree or deeds.  This is why he said that everything that he once considered gain he now considered loss compared to knowing Christ.  Paul came to the realization that salvation is by God’s grace, not our efforts.  It is through faith in Jesus Christ, not by the good deeds we may perform.  We do not deserve God’s love and grace, but He lavishes it on us unconditionally.  He has made it possible to be saved and to inherit eternal life.  No matter who you are or what you’ve done or where you’ve been, you can be declared righteous by God by accepting His offer of salvation made on the cross of Calvary.  And the power that raised Jesus from the dead is the same power that will dwell inside you and change you from the inside out.

PRAYER: Thank You, Lord, for saving me from my sins.  How I need the free gift of Your love and grace.  Thank You for Jesus, my Savior.  Help me to live my life to honor Him today.  Amen.

0 Responses to “Everything Lost”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

