26
Feb
16

God Calls Us By Name

Sometimes we can feel so alone.  We feel like we are on a deserted island.  No one knows what we are going through.  No one knows the pain we are experiencing.  No one knows and even worse, no one cares.  It is as though no one even knows our names.  We feel like a nameless, faceless nobody.  Do you ever feel this way?

But now, O Jacob, listen to the LORD who created you.
O Israel, the one who formed you says,
“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
you will not be burned up;
the flames will not consume you.
For I am the LORD, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. – Isaiah 43:1-3a (NLT)

Notice that God does not promise His people a life free from pain.  There will be:

  • Deep waters
  • Rivers of difficulty
  • Fires of oppression

But I love what God says.

  • I will be with you in the deep waters
  • You will not drown in the rivers of difficulty
  • You will not be burned up by the fires of oppression

He is there with us and protecting us and watching over us.  Why?  Because He is our God and our Savior.  Jesus will always be with you wherever you go.  He knows your name.  He hears your cries.  He loves you for you are His.  You belong to Him.  May this thought and these words comfort you wherever you are today.  Do not be afraid today!  He is with you!

PRAYER: Father God, thank You for being with me wherever I go. Thank You for being with me in my pain and loneliness.  Please remind me of Your presence in my life today.  Amen.

0 Responses to “God Calls Us By Name”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

