12
Feb
16

Happy Valentine’s Day! Love, God

Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good;
his love endures forever.
Let Israel say:
“His love endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron say:
“His love endures forever.”
Let those who fear the LORD say:
“His love endures forever.” — Psalm 118:1-4 (NIV)

I’m not a huge Valentine’s Day fan.  I don’t need a greeting card company to remind me that I need to profess my love for my wife.  She doesn’t need me to be extra “lovey-dovey” one day a year because the calendar says it is February 14th.  I need to love her with an unconditional, all-the-time kind of love.  I need her to know that she is loved no matter what (kind of like I promised to do on our wedding day a little over 12 years ago).  I need her to know that she can feel safe and secure in my love and that nothing will change my love for her until we are parted by death.  I need to love her with the same kind of love that God has for us.

When the Psalmist writes that “His love endures forever”, he means it.  God’s love never ends and it never fails.  His love for us is not limited to one day a year or just throughout our lifetimes here on earth.  His love endures forever! His love is unfathomably high, long, wide and deep.  His love reaches across time and space to everyone, everywhere.  God is love and that love was never better demonstrated than on the cross where Jesus died.  For He loved us so much that He sent His one and only Son to take our punishment that we deserve for the sins we have committed, are committing and will commit.  He loves us so much that He would rather die than live without us.  That’s the kind of love that I need in my life and that I need to give to others in my life.  May you know the kind of love that God has for you not only today, but everyday into eternity…

PRAYER: Thank You, God, for Your unconditional, eternal love.  Help me to live a life that says, “I love You, too.”  Amen.

0 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day! Love, God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

