11
Feb
16

Losing My Life

“Do not suppose that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.”
“Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.  Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” — Matthew 10:34, 37-39 (NIV)
Jesus’ words here in Matthew 10 are very difficult for us to hear.  Jesus, the Prince of Peace, did not come to bring peace to this world, but a sword?  How could this be?  Why all of this division and discord?  Because Jesus must be first!  As a husband and father, I have to count the cost of my relationships in my life.  Who is number one?  Is Jesus first?  Do I really love Jesus more than my wife and child?  Do I love Jesus more than my parents?  Do I love Jesus more than myself?  I am to take up my cross (die to myself) and follow Jesus or else I am not worthy of Him.
Is there anything wrong with loving my son?  Is there anything wrong with loving my wife?  My parents?  My siblings?  My friends?  Myself?  Not at all!  We are beings who need to give and receive love.  We crave love and intimacy and relationship as we journey through this life.  In order to truly find life is to put Jesus first.  Do I love Jesus enough to die for Him?  Yes, I do.  But the real question is much harder.  Do I love Jesus enough to live for Him?  Will I put Him first in my life?  Will I sacrifice my wants, selfish desires and harmful habits in order to draw closer to Him?  It is in the losing of one’s life that true gain is ultimately found.
Living for Jesus, a life that is true,
Striving to please Him in all that I do;
Yielding allegiance, glad-hearted and free,
This is the pathway of blessing for me. — Thomas Chisholm, Living For Jesus, 1917
​PRAYER: Father, I need Your help to live for Jesus today.  Help me to put Him first.  May my life be lived to please you.  Amen.
0 Responses to “Losing My Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

