21
Jan
16

MY Will Be Done

Why is submission and surrender so hard?  Why is it so hard to give up our plans and dreams and give them over to God?  Does He not know what is best?  Is He some sort of cosmic killjoy?  I know that God is in control and that He will always do what is best for His Kingdom and His glory.  These are the things for which I should be living and praying.  Jesus, in the Sermon on the Mount, taught His disciples to pray…

May your Kingdom come soon.
May your will be done on earth,
as it is in heaven. — Matthew 6:10 (NLT)

Even on the night before He was crucified, Jesus prayed that the Father’s will would be done in His own life.

Then Jesus left them a second time and prayed, “My Father! If this cup cannot be taken away unless I drink it, your will be done.” — Matthew 26:42 (NLT)

The problem is that I want what I want and I want what I think is best.  I want what I want NOW.  God wants me to wait for Him to reveal His plan.  I want what I think is best for me and my family.  God wants what is best for His Kingdom and His glory.  I want what I think is best for His church.  He wants me to remember that it is His church and He will do what is best for His church.  I am not God.  I do not see the big picture.  I cannot see what is coming around the bend, but God can.  What I want may seem right to me.  My will may seem best to me.  God’s will is best for me.  Now I must bring MY will in line with HIS will and wait upon the Lord.

When is it hardest for you to surrender to God’s will?

What is hardest for you – waiting for God’s will to be done or surrendering yourself to His will?

PRAYER: Lord, have Your way in me.  Help me to know and do Your will today.  Give me the strength to surrender my life to Your will and Your way today.  In Jesus’ name, amen.

0 Responses to “MY Will Be Done”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

