05
Jan
16

Remembering What God Has Done

Micah 6:1-5 (NIV)

Listen to what the Lord says:

“Stand up, plead my case before the mountains;
    let the hills hear what you have to say.

“Hear, you mountains, the Lord’s accusation;
    listen, you everlasting foundations of the earth.
For the Lord has a case against his people;
    he is lodging a charge against Israel.

“My people, what have I done to you?
    How have I burdened you? Answer me.
I brought you up out of Egypt
    and redeemed you from the land of slavery.
I sent Moses to lead you,
    also Aaron and Miriam.
My people, remember
    what Balak king of Moab plotted
    and what Balaam son of Beor answered.
Remember your journey from Shittim to Gilgal,
    that you may know the righteous acts of the Lord.”

​Why would we ever want to leave the safe presence of the Lord?  Too often we have the attitude, “What have You done for me lately, God?”  We forget everything He’s done for us in the past and it makes us wander in the present toward an uncertain future.  We have an incredibly bright future in Heaven with Jesus.  He has promised to never leave us or forsake us and yet we leave Him all the time.  We chase after the idols of our day of materialism, consumerism and stuff.  We spend our time doing other things that take away from our time with Him.  We squander our talents and abilities to satisfy our own selfish desires.  We fail Him and yet He patiently waits for us to return from our wandering.  We are so short-sighted and forgetful.
God has been faithful to deliver us time and time again.  He has rescued us from our sins and the consequences of them.  He has poured out the punishment we deserve on His own Son and spared us from it.  Yet we turn away from Him to chase the fleeting things of Earth.  We doubt Him even though He has proved so true in the past.  We run away from Him even though He has never left us.  We are selfish and self-centered.  We are forgetful even though He has been faithful.  
How we need to remember all that He has done.  We need to remember how He has provided for us.  We need to remember how He has forgiven us.  We need to remember His blessings.  We need to remember His guidance.  We need to remember His protection.  We need to remember our God in all that we do.
 
PRAYER: Lord God, I am so forgetful.  I have seen how You have provided for me, protected me and guided me in the past and yet I forget You.  I have felt Your love in my life and yet I forget all about it as I chase the things of Earth.  I have seen Your faithfulness in many ways and yet I run away like a prodigal child.  Help me to keep You first in my life today that I may know the way that You are leading me.  In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.
0 Responses to “Remembering What God Has Done”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

