01
Dec
15

Good and Best

(This post was originally published in December, 2010)

If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! — Matthew 7:11 (NIV)

I’ll admit it.  I did it.  I absolutely, positively did it.  I walked into the kitchen this morning and gave my 4 year-old son a chocolate chip cookie for breakfast.

I said, “What do I have here?” pointing at the Ziploc bag of last night’s freshly made delights.

He said, “A cookie?”

I said, “Uh huh.  Do you want one?”

He reached out his hand and I put a cookie in it, albeit a small one.

Nonetheless, it was a cookie and they are good!

Why would I do such a thing?  Have I taken leave of my senses?  Chocolate chip cookies aren’t for breakfast!  Breakfast is for other such sugar-filled treats such as frosted cereals and pancakes, right?!?  I did it because of the look.  That look of sheer delight that he gets when I give him a gift.  Especially an unexpected gift!  Even if it is not the best thing for him.

Jesus tells us that the Father in Heaven desires to give good gifts to His children.  But God doesn’t bless us with chocolate chip cookies at 7:00 in the morning.  No, He does something much better.  In fact, God does what is best.  He knows our deepest needs and desires and He wants to give us the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4).  The key is that He will always act according to His will and His purpose and His plan.  God knows what we truly need and what we need most is Him.  He sent Jesus to earth and gave us the gift of Himself.  That’s what Christmas is all about.  As we move into this time of year, I pray that God will reveal a little bit of His plan to you and that you will delight yourself in Him.  I pray that He will give you what is both good and best.

PRAYER: Lord, I ask that today that You would help me to see Your plan and Your purpose for my life.  Help me to do Your will.  I know that You will give me what I desire when I desire Your best for me.  Thank You for always having my best in mind.  I love You, amen.

0 Responses to “Good and Best”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

