11
Nov
15

The Heavy Burden Of Guilt

My guilt has overwhelmed me like a burden too heavy to bear. — Psalm 38:4 (NIV)

Guilt is a heavy burden, is it not?  When you’ve done something for which you are truly ashamed, the guilt of that sin weighs on you like a 2-ton boulder.  It presses down on you and consumes your thoughts.  “Why did I do it?  What was I thinking?  What if I get caught?  How could I have been so foolish?!?”  The guilt of our sins is all too real.

The forgiveness that Christ has paid for on the cross is real, too.  Hebrews 8:12 makes this promise for those who trust in Christ for salvation under God’s new covenant: “I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.”  When we put our faith and trust in Jesus Christ for salvation, the heavy weight and burden of guilt is lifted off of us and we can move and breathe and truly live!  We are free from the burden of guilt!  Only Christ can free us from it.  Only He can rescue us from our guilt and only He can cleanse our consciences.

Are you carrying around a heavy load of guilt today?  Are you being crushed under the weight of a burden of guilt?  It’s time to be set free!  Jesus wants to lift that heavy burden off of you and quiet those nagging voices of guilt in your mind.  Let go of the burden.  You are free in Christ.  “…if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed” (John 8:36, NIV).  Amen!

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, I pray that You would set me free from my burden of guilt today.  I know that I am a sinner and that apart from You, I am guilty.  I have sinned against You and against my neighbor.  I am in need of Your grace and forgiveness.  Help me to know that my sins have been forgiven and that You have lifted the burden of guilt from me when You took my place on the cross.  In Your name I pray, amen.

0 Responses to “The Heavy Burden Of Guilt”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

