02
Nov
15

Knowledge Versus Love

Now about food sacrificed to idols: We know that we all possess knowledge.  Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up.  The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know.  But the man who loves God is known by God. — 1 Corinthians 8:1-3 (NIV)

The W.E.O.U.I.

My wife calls me a “walking encyclopedia of useless information.”  I know a little bit about many different subjects.  It’s just the way my brain works.  I love Jeopardy.  People look at me with an odd stare when I watch the show.  I’ve heard the words, “How do you know that?” more than once.  I explain, “I just know it.”  I’ll admit, it’s a source of pride and that’s not good.  I can be quite puffy when it comes to my brain.

Guilty By Association

There were those in Paul’s day who just knew that they knew the right answers.  This whole thing of meat sacrificed to idols?  They knew the answer.  It was a sin.  Plain and simple.  It was wrong.  That food was consecrated to a false god and if you ate it, you were guilty.  You were endorsing the worship of a false idol and therefore you were guilty of sin.  Plain and simple.  Guilty by association.

Knowledge Vs. Love

I think that the point that Paul is making in this passage is that love trumps knowledge.  The heart beats the head in a sort of metaphysical game of rock, paper, scissors.  We can possess quite a bit of knowledge, but we will never know everything.  On the other hand, there is no limit to the love we can share with others.  Knowledge is limited, but love is boundless.  Seek opportunities to love God and others before sharing that of which you are so sure.

PRAYER: Father, give me opportunities to demonstrate my love for you and my love for others.  I want to show Your love to the world and to express my love for You.  Thank You for demonstrating Your love for me through Your Son, Jesus, amen.

0 Responses to “Knowledge Versus Love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

