16
Oct
15

The One Worthy Of Praise

Psalm 18
For the director of music.  Of David the servant of the LORD.  He sang to the LORD the words of this song when the LORD delivered him from the hand of all his enemies and from the hand of Saul.  He said:
I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.  He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies. — Psalm 18:1-3 (NIV)

In the Psalms, the word “worthy” appears four times in the NIV.  In each instance, it is part of the phrase “worthy of praise”.  In each instance, it is referring to God.  We see from the Psalms that God is deserving of praise.  He is praiseworthy.  We heap praise on quite a few things in our world (the brownies I made last night were quite delicious, but not necessarily praiseworthy).  There is only One who is truly worthy of praise.

Two Reasons To Praise God

First, because of what God has done.  That is what David did in Psalm 18.  God had rescued him from his enemies.  David feared for his life and God delivered him.  He, in turn, praised God for what He had done for David.

Secondly, because of who God is.  David praised God because of God’s attributes.  God was his strength and shield.  God was his deliverer and fortress and refuge.  He could hide and take shelter in God.  He could call to the Lord and find salvation.

The Same Goes For Us

We need to discover God’s worthiness of praise in our own lives for the very same reasons.  How do we answer these two questions:

  • What has God done for us?
  • Who is God?

How has God rescued you?  From what has he saved and rescued you?  How have you seen His attributes displayed in your life?  Have you called on the name of the Lord Jesus for salvation (Romans 10:13; Acts 22:16)?  He still saves and He is still our refuge and He is still worthy of praise!

PRAYER: Heavenly Father, You alone are worthy of all of the glory, honor and praise.  You are a great God and a good Father.  I thank You for all that You have done in my life.  I praise You for Your faithful provision for me and my family.  I praise You for Your promises for I know that they are true.  Help me to live a life of praise today as I follow Jesus.  In His name I pray, amen.

0 Responses to “The One Worthy Of Praise”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

