28
Sep
15

What More Could I Possibly Want?

Whom have I in heaven but you?
And earth has nothing I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart
and my portion forever. — Psalm 73:25-26 (NIV)
I don’t know about you, but I try to bargain with God.  “God, I will (fill in the blank), if You will (fill in the blank).”  Blank A could be filled in with such items as: spend more time in prayer; read my Bible more; cut down on my facebook time in order to spend more time with You.  Blank B could be filled in with: make my church grow and be successful; bless me with wealth; give my wife her health back; protect my family; etc.
There are at least two flaws in my thinking.  One, God does not bargain with me (or anyone for that matter).  He’s already given me the greatest bargain ever: the gracious gift of eternal life in exchange for simple faith in His Son.  Two, He has to be enough.  He has to be my portion.  He has to be all that I need or want.  I have to want HIM with every fiber of my being.  Spending time with Him is the reward.  Spending time with Him is all that I could ever want or need.  Just to be with Jesus in a relationship that satisfies my every longing.  Reading my Bible is its own reward.  More prayer time?  Reward!  Less facebook = more of Jesus?  REWARD!  There’s a lot of the “stuff of earth” that “competes for the allegiance I owe only to the Giver of all good things” (thanks, Rich).  May God be our portion and our reward today.  May we desire only Christ and not the things of earth.
Prayer: God, I want to be satisfied in You today.  I don’t need the stuff of earth.  I need You.  You are my reward.  Without You, I have nothing.  Help me to find my hope, peace, joy and fulfillment in You alone.  In the name of the risen Savior, Jesus, I pray.  Amen.
0 Responses to “What More Could I Possibly Want?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

