15
Sep
15

The Great Reunion

For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first.  After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. — 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17 (NIV)

I was thinking about relationships and friendships this morning and how hard it is to be separated by miles and miles.  I like e-mail and the telephone, but it is no substitute for a face-to-face reunion.  That is the promise of 1 Thessalonians 4.  There will be a great reunion of loved ones, both friends and family.  Those who have passed away and those who are still alive.  We who are one in Christ will see each other face to face again.  We may be separated by time and space at the present moment, but we will be reunited in the presence of the Lord on that great day.

Paul tells the Thessalonians to encourage each other with the words he had written about the return of Christ.  My encouragement to you today is to remain faithful until He returns.  Stay faithful, my friends.  The reward and the reunion is well worth it.  Though we may face trials, tribulations and temptations, stay faithful.

PRAYER: Lord, I need the encouragement of Jesus’ return today.  This day will try to knock me down and beat me up and get the best of me.  But I know that Your Word says that there is coming a better day.  The day of Christ’s return.  Help me to keep my eyes on that prize as I await the great reunion and to see Jesus face-to-face.  In His mighty name I pray, amen.

0 Responses to “The Great Reunion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

