08
Sep
15

Glorifying God

Jesus prayed…

“Father, the time has come. Glorify your Son, that your Son may glorify you.  For you granted him authority over all people that he might give eternal life to all those you have given him.  Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.  I have brought you glory on earth by completing the work you gave me to do.  And now, Father, glorify me in your presence with the glory I had with you before the world began.”  — John 17:1-5 (NIV)
I find it amazing that in the humiliation of the cross, Jesus brought glory to the Father.  Jesus kept His eyes on the heavenly prize to which He was going to return.  The Greek word that is translated “glorify” is the word from which we get our English word “doxology”.  It means to praise or make the glory of someone effective.  Jesus was praying that the Father would reveal His glory through the Son.  This would happen at the cross and in Jesus’ subsequent resurrection from the dead and ascension.  Jesus now reigns at the right hand of the Father and is truly glorified.  He reigns in power and majesty and every creature in heaven bows in His presence to glorify Him.  What a scene it must be!
The question I have for us today is: how can we mirror heaven today?  How can we give glory and honor to Jesus Christ?  How can we glorify God today?  How can we praise the Father, Son and Spirit in the things that we say, think and do?  Let us keep our hearts and minds focused on the thought that we can glorify God today.  May His name be forever praised!  Hallelujah!  Amen.
PRAYER: Father God, I want my life to bring glory to Jesus.  I want my worship to be more than just singing on Sunday.  I want my worship to be service to You all week.  Help me in my weaknesses to bring honor and glory to You by Your grace.  Thank You for Your love, grace, mercy and forgiveness through Jesus, amen.
0 Responses to “Glorifying God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

