26
Aug
15

Repaying The Lord

What can I give back to God
for the blessings he’s poured out on me? — Psalm 116:12 (The Message)
I heard this Psalm quoted by Bono at a U2 concert back in 2001 in Indianapolis.  It is a profound question.  What can we give to God that He doesn’t already have?  What can we give to God that could possibly measure up to all of the blessings He has poured out on us?  The simple answer is: ourselves.
First, we can surrender our lives to Him in humility and submission.  I believe that God gives us a choice to accept Him or reject Him.  If we reject Him, He honors that choice throughout eternity.  If you don’t want to live with God, He’ll honor that choice.  If you accept Him (by grace through faith in Christ expressed in baptism) and desire to live with Him, He’ll honor that choice as well.  In accepting His gracious offer of salvation, we must submit and surrender to His leadership in our lives.  We must repent and turn away from sin and turn to God in total surrender.  We give Him our lives and He gives us His Spirit.
Second, we must recognize that He is the source of blessing in our lives and we give Him our praise, thanksgiving and adoration.  Romans says that to offer ourselves up as living sacrifices is our spiritual act of worship.  As we begin to understand more and more that everything we have is a gift from God, the more our hearts yearn to repay Him.  We could not possibly hope to repay Him with offerings of tithes and praises and with good behavior.  All we can give Him is the most valuable thing we “possess” and that is ourselves.  Let us take up our crosses today and repay the Lord with our very lives lived in His service and praise.
PRAYER: Lord, help me to surrender everything to You today.  I know that I could never repay You for all of Your love, kindness and goodness to me.  Help me, instead, to live a life filled with gratitude for all You have done.  Help me to give You all of me and all of my heart.  Help me to love You with everything that I have and to put You and Your will first in my life.  Thank You for Jesus in Whose name I pray, amen.
0 Responses to “Repaying The Lord”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

