24
Aug
15

A DOA Kind Of Faith

James 2:18-19 (NIV)
 But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”
Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds.19 You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.

James says that faith without deeds is dead (James 2:26, NIV).  Saying, “I believe” is not enough!  It is impossible for a Christian to say that they have faith in God and in the Lord Jesus Christ and not back up their words with action.  If you are not living out your faith in good works, then your faith is dead on arrival.

James points out that the believers of his day would say that there is only one God (bringing to mind the Hebrew Shema as well as denying the polytheism of the pagans of his day).  He then compares those folks with demons!  The demons know and believe that there is one God.  The demons, when they came face to face with Jesus, said, “What do you want with us, Son of God?” (Matthew 8:29, NIV).  In Mark 1:24 (NIV), the demons said, “What do you want with us, Jesus of Nazareth?” and “I know who You are — the Holy One of God!”  The demons expressed belief in who Jesus is, which is more than we can say for many in our world today.  They did not express that belief in their works.  Their belief did not change them when they rebelled against God eons ago.

Do not merely say, “I believe.”  Faith in Christ does not allow a believer to sit idly by with no evidence of said faith in one’s life.  Good works fueled by faith, hope and love are not optional.  Our faith must be more than surface deep.  Our deeds must be the demonstration of our faith in Christ.  True faith in Jesus does not allow one to sit in a church building on a Sunday morning in one’s Sunday best only to leave one’s faith behind for the remaining 167 hours.  Take your faith with you and let it fuel your good deeds throughout the week.  Show love to the world in Jesus’ name.  Help those in need.  Pray for those who are far from God.  Share your faith with those who are lost in their sins.  Volunteer in your church’s ministries.  These things do not save us, but rather they are the evidence of a saving faith.

PRAYER: Lord Jesus, I believe in You.  I believe that You are the Son of God and that You died on the cross for my sins.  I believe that I am forgiven by Your sacrifice.  Help me to demonstrate my faith by putting it into action.  I know that I am not saved by my works.  Help me to remember that I am saved to do those good works You have prepared for me to do.  Thank You for giving Yourself for me, Amen.

0 Responses to “A DOA Kind Of Faith”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

