06
Aug
15

Keeping Your Temper And Your Tongue In Check

James 1:19-20 (NIV)
My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, 20 because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.
James offers some great advice, not just for Christians, but for all people in verse 19 (NIV).
  • Be quick to listen
  • Be slow to speak
  • Be slow to become angry

Take a look at Facebook for a while and you’ll see that we are not following James’ advice.  We often fail to listen because we are formulating our argument against the person to whom we are talking.  We speak (comment) quickly and without much thought as to what we are saying.  We get very angry and very quickly and we let our emotions get the best of us.  This does not produce righteousness, which God desires (vs. 20).

James is setting the table for his teaching on the tongue later in chapter one.  When our tempers and emotions get the best of us, one of the first things to go is the control over our tongues.  God wants us to be righteous (to do the right things) with regard to what we say.  So whether we are posting or commenting on Facebook or other social media or having a discussion about politics or religion, remember that God’s desire is for us to keep our tempers and our tongues in check.
PRAYER: God, I know that you desire righteousness.  I confess that my temper and my tongue sometimes get the best of me.  I fly off the handle and say or post things that are not pleasing to you.  Help me this day to keep my temper and my tongue in check.  Help me to follow James’ wise teachings about being quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.  Bring about righteousness in my life.  Amen.
0 Responses to “Keeping Your Temper And Your Tongue In Check”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

