23
Jul
15

What God Requires

With what shall I come before the LORD
and bow down before the exalted God?
Shall I come before him with burnt offerings,
with calves a year old?

Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams,
with ten thousand rivers of oil?
Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression,
the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?

He has showed you, O man, what is good.
And what does the LORD require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God. — Micah 6:6-8 (NIV)

Every Sunday we show up with our checks and offering envelopes.  We come to sing our songs and perform our rituals.  What about our hearts?

These people come near to me with their mouth
and honor me with their lips,
but their hearts are far from me.
Their worship of me
is made up only of rules taught by men. — Isaiah 29:13 (NIV)

Jesus quoted the passage from Isaiah when He talked about the Pharisees and the teachers of the Law in Matthew 15:8-9.  The heart is the key to worship.  How do we truly honor God with our hearts?  What does God require of His people?

  • Act justly
  • Love mercy
  • Walk humbly with your God

I believe that what God requires most of His people is love.  That we love others and treat them fairly.  To love mercy and being merciful.  To have the kind of love for people that is focused on healing and forgiveness.  To love God and walk before Him in humility.  We can bring our tithes and offerings and sing amazing songs of praise, but if our hearts aren’t filled with love for God and love for others what good are our offerings?  Rather than trying to atone for our lack of love with offerings, let us allow God’s Spirit to transform us into the loving people He desires.

0 Responses to “What God Requires”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

