17
Jul
15

The Increase of Grace

The law was added so that the trespass might increase.  But where sin increased, grace increased all the more, so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace might reign through righteousness to bring eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. — Romans 5:20-21 (NIV)

This morning I have been listening to the song Only Grace by Matthew West.  Then I read Paul’s words in Romans 5 and realize that grace is really all I need.  God’s unmerited favor towards me is that which is most essential.  My salvation is not dependent on my righteousness, but by Christ being the sinless sacrifice that paid for my sins.  I have been ransomed and redeemed by the grace of God.  It is God’s grace that saves me from my wickedness and sinfulness.  It is His grace that makes salvation possible through such simple means.  I can’t earn it or be good enough for it or buy it.  Salvation is by God’s grace through faith in His Son, Jesus Christ.  It is a wonderful gift of love that God desires to give to everyone.

My sins have been washed away in the blood of Jesus Christ because of the loving grace of God.  I have the hope and promise of eternal life because of God’s grace.  What hope do you have?  Have you received God’s loving gift of grace?  The Bible teaches a very simple plan of salvation.

  1. Believe – Ephesians 2:8 – we are saved by grace through faith
  2. Repent – 2 Corinthians 7:10 – Godly sorrow leads to repentance which leads to salvation and life
  3. Confess – Romans 10:9-10 – we believe in our hearts and confess with our mouths and we are saved
  4. Be Baptized – Acts 2:38 – Repent and be baptized…for the forgiveness of your sins and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit

May God lead you by His grace into salvation and eternal life!  If you are looking for a church in your area to get plugged into, try this link and enter in your zip code or city/state information.  Blessings!

-Shawn

0 Responses to “The Increase of Grace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

