15
Jul
15

He Loves Us

I want to share with you something I posted to Facebook last night:
His plea to His people is, ‘Come now, wounded, frightened, angry, lonely, empty, and I’ll meet you where you live. And I’ll love you as you are, not as you should be, because you’re never going to be as you should be.’ Do you really believe this? With all the wrong turns you made in your past… the mistakes, the moments of selfishness, dishonesty and degraded love? Do you really believe that Jesus Christ loves you? Not the Person next to you, not the church, not the world. But that He loves you—beyond worthiness and unworthiness, beyond fidelity and infidelity. That he loves you in the morning sun and in the evening rain. Without caution, regret, boundary, limit. No matter what’s gone down, He can’t stop loving you. This is the Jesus of the Gospels. – Brennan Manning
I am totally struck by these words:  “I’ll love you as you are, not as you should be, because you’re never going to be as you should be.”  How awesome is that?!?  I’ll never measure up (Romans 3:23), so unless Jesus loves me just as I am without one plea, I’m done for.  If He doesn’t love me as I am, He’ll never love me.  All that I am is all that I am.  I might take baby steps in my life toward becoming something better than I am now, but it won’t make Jesus love me any more than He does right now.  I may not make much progress toward being what I need to be, but it won’t make Jesus love me any less than He does right now.  Jesus’ love is perfect and unconditional.  So how do we respond to such love?  How do we respond to the One who loves “without caution, regret, boundary, limit”?  Obedience.  Jesus said that if we love Him, we will obey Him (John 14:15).  Let’s work on loving the One who can’t, and won’t, stop loving us.
0 Responses to “He Loves Us”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

