03
Jul
15

A Call For God-Dependence

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.

Trust in him at all times, O people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge. — Psalm 62:5-8 (NIV)

Happy 4th of July!  235 years ago (now 239), our forefathers declared their independence from Great Britain and established a new nation.  I thank God that He allowed me to be born in a place where I have such amazing freedoms.  Freedom to worship Him, freedom from fear of the government, freedom from oppression and freedom to pursue life, liberty and happiness.  These freedoms were made possible because a brave group of men with names such as Jefferson, Washington, Franklin, Madison and many others were willing to assert their desire for justice and independence.

On this Independence Day 2011, I was thinking about independence.  Independence seems to be a desire from the very beginning of our lives.  I see it in my 4 year old (now 8 year old) son who wants to do things by himself.  Teenagers want to assert their independence from their parents.  Adults don’t want to lose their independence as they age.  We seem to have an innate desire to be independent.

Yet Scripture tells us that our salvation depends on God.  A theme that runs through Scripture is that we are helpless to save ourselves.  In John 14:6 (NIV), Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.”  Acts 4:12 (NIV) says that “Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved.”  It is only through Jesus Christ that we can be saved.  We depend on Jesus for salvation.

So on this 4th of July, may we celebrate the freedoms we enjoy so much.  May we remember those who have gone before us to secure and preserve our independence.  May we realize that to be truly free, we must declare our dependence on Jesus.  Because “…if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed” (John 8:36, NIV).

0 Responses to “A Call For God-Dependence”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

