01
Jul
15

Truth Is Truth

The truth is hard to swallow sometimes.  The truth divides people.  The truth divides families and can even divide churches.  The truth makes enemies of friends.  The truth makes enemies of brothers and sisters in Christ.
Paul was cared for by the Galatians during his ministry with them.  Even when he was a burden to them.  He said, “you welcomed me as if I were an angel of God, as if I were Jesus Christ himself” (Galatians 1:14, NIV).  So why did they turn on him?  He told them the truth.

Have I now become your enemy by telling you the truth?​ – Galatians 1:16 (NIV)​

They were abandoning the true Gospel of salvation by grace through faith in Christ and Paul would have none of it!  They were reverting to their former and erroneous ways of believing.  At one time they loved Paul and would have done anything for him (see verse 15).  But when Paul penned this letter, he is heartbroken over the fact that they saw him as an enemy.
The truth divides people.  When you tell someone the truth, they have a choice.  They can accept what they’ve heard or they can reject it.  The truth is exclusive like that.  There can only be one truth.  Everything else is a lie or twisting of the truth.
When you tell someone about the Truth – Jesus – you risk becoming their enemy.  Jesus said that He is the Way, the Truth and the Life and that no one comes to the Father except through Him (John 14:6).  That’s pretty exclusive, right?  That is either true or it is not.  There’s no wiggle room.  You can’t ignore such a statement of exclusivity.  Either it is true or it is a fabrication.  He did not say that He is “a” way or “a” truth or “a” life.  He used the definite article “the.”  There is only ONE way to the Father and that is through Jesus.
So when you tell someone the truth, know that there is a risk involved.  They will either accept it or reject it.  If they reject it, they will most likely reject you as well.  However they respond to the truth (and subsequently to you), it doesn’t change the fact that truth is truth.
Galatians 4:12-16 (NIV)
I plead with you, brothers and sisters, become like me, for I became like you. You did me no wrong. 13 As you know, it was because of an illness that I first preached the gospel to you, 14 and even though my illness was a trial to you, you did not treat me with contempt or scorn. Instead, you welcomed me as if I were an angel of God, as if I were Christ Jesus himself. 15 Where, then, is your blessing of me now? I can testify that, if you could have done so, you would have torn out your eyes and given them to me. 16 Have I now become your enemy by telling you the truth?
1 Response to “Truth Is Truth”


  1. 1 jacqui
    12.31.2009 at 9:11 AM

    Amen! I am aware more and more as I follow Jesus I could be excluded, ignored or more because of the truth …. Thank you for this x


Leave a Reply

