12
May
15

A List Of Names In A Book

  I commend to you our sister Phoebe, who is a deacon in the church in Cenchrea.Welcome her in the Lord as one who is worthy of honor among God’s people. Help her in whatever she needs, for she has been helpful to many, and especially to me.

Give my greetings to Priscilla and Aquila, my co-workers in the ministry of Christ Jesus.In fact, they once risked their lives for me. I am thankful to them, and so are all the Gentile churches. Also give my greetings to the church that meets in their home.

Greet my dear friend Epenetus. He was the first person from the province of Asia to become a follower of Christ. Give my greetings to Mary, who has worked so hard for your benefit.Greet Andronicus and Junia, my fellow Jews, who were in prison with me. They are highly respected among the apostles and became followers of Christ before I did. Greet Ampliatus, my dear friend in the Lord. Greet Urbanus, our co-worker in Christ, and my dear friend Stachys.

10 Greet Apelles, a good man whom Christ approves. And give my greetings to the believers from the household of Aristobulus. 11 Greet Herodion, my fellow Jew. Greet the Lord’s people from the household of Narcissus. 12 Give my greetings to Tryphena and Tryphosa, the Lord’s workers, and to dear Persis, who has worked so hard for the Lord. 13 Greet Rufus, whom the Lord picked out to be his very own; and also his dear mother, who has been a mother to me.

14 Give my greetings to Asyncritus, Phlegon, Hermes, Patrobas, Hermas, and the brothers and sisters who meet with them. 15 Give my greetings to Philologus, Julia, Nereus and his sister, and to Olympas and all the believers who meet with them. 16 Greet each other in Christian love. All the churches of Christ send you their greetings.  — Romans 16:1-16 (NLT)

It’s just a list of names, right?  Romans 16 begins with this somewhat lengthy list of names.  A list of names in a book.  We usually fast forward past lists of names in the Bible, don’t we?  We don’t know who these people are or very much about them.  They’re just names in a book.  I think that there is a really cool principle to be learned from a list of names in a book.  It is this: everyone is important.  Whether we know who Phoebe is or Epenetus or Phlegon doesn’t matter.  God knew their names and who they were.  God cared about them enough to inspire Paul to write their names in a book.  Do you know what?  Your name is in a list of names written in a book.  Your name is in a book that God wrote.  God knows your name and He cared enough to write your name in a book.  That book is the Lamb’s Book of Life that we read about in the book of Revelation.  God cared enough about you (and me) to send His Son, Jesus, to take the punishment for your sins and my sins so that our names could be written in a list of names in His book.  So the next time you are reading your Bible and you happen upon a listof names in God’s book, think about the book in which your name is written for all eternity.
0 Responses to “A List Of Names In A Book”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

