05
May
15

Depending On God

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone;
my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, O people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.  (Psalm 62:5-8, NIV)
I am involved in a war for independence.  My 3 1/2 year old thinks he’s 23 1/2.  He thinks he doesn’t need me for anything.   He thinks he knows best.  He thinks he knows what he’s doing.  As his father, I know that he is not ready for independence just yet.
The other day he opened up the front door and went outside to ride his tricycle without my knowledge.  I walked into the front room and the door was open.  He was halfway down the sidewalk.  He didn’t ask my permission.  He was still in his pajamas.  He didn’t understand why I was so upset.
I am involved in a war for independence.  I am a 36 year old who thinks I am a mature Christian.  I sometimes think that I don’t need God for anything.  I sometimes think I know best.  I sometimes think I know what I am doing.  As my Heavenly Father, God knows that I’ll never be ready for independence.
I am learning to depend on God for things like rest, refuge, shelter, salvation, honor and hope.  I can’t do it on my own.  Every so often I test the waters, but discover all too soon that I am not ready for the deep end of the pool.  I find that I’m barely able to keep from drowning in the kiddie pool of life!  What about you?  Are you waging a war for independence?  How are you learning to depend on God?  With what do you need to trust Him right now?  May He gently and lovingly show you that He is in control and that you really can depend on Him.
0 Responses to “Depending On God”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

