18
Mar
15

Ask Not

What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?  You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.  — James 4:1-3 (NIV, emphasis added)
What can God do?  What can’t God do?  The two answers to those two questions are everything and nothing.  Why don’t I see evidence of this in my life?  Why don’t I see amazing things happening in my life?  Is God angry with me?  Is God disappointed in me and therefore He won’t do amazing things in my life and in the life of my church?  Or am I missing something?  What do I lack?
I believe that if I ask for God’s will to be done and wait for Him to do His will in His time, He will do amazing things.  I believe that the will of God is to do amazing things.  Why do I believe such a thing?  It is because of His Word.  God has always done amazing things.  From Creation to the parting of the Red Sea to the empty tomb.  God does amazing things to accomplish His purposes.  I’m not advocating some kind of prosperity gospel.  I’m not praying for a myriad of worldly blessings so I can drive a fancy car and live in a huge house.  I want God to do amazing things for the glory of His name.  I want to see God do amazing things in my church family.  I want to see God do amazing things in His Kingdom.
I think about those words “You do not have, because you do not ask God.”  Maybe I am asking for the wrong things.  Maybe I am asking with the wrong motives.  Maybe I am not asking enough.  I need to hit my knees more and lean on my own understanding less.  I need to trust God more and trust myself less.  God is God and I am not.  Isaiah 55:9 says, “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”
Reflect on these things for a while and let me know what you think.  What is God trying to do in your life?  What amazing things can God do with you and in you?  Let’s ask Him together to do some amazing things and receive what He desires to give.
0 Responses to “Ask Not”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

