05
Mar
15

The Grief Of Knowledge

We live in unprecedented times.  When I was a young boy, we used encyclopedias to do research for papers and projects.  It was slow and limited in perspective.  Now, I have the totality of human knowledge in my pocket on my personal communication device that allows me to connect with virtually any human being on the planet anytime, anywhere.  We can research any topic and get various perspectives on it whenever we feel like doing so.  If I need a phone number for a pizza place, for example, I can find it with just a few swipes of my finger.  There is no 411 anymore.  Google is my 411!  We have essentially all of the information we could ever need at the touch of a button.
But what has all of this knowledge really done for us?  Where does all of this information take us each day?  Solomon said this in Ecclesiastes 1:18 (NIV):

For with much wisdom comes much sorrow;
    the more knowledge, the more grief.

The wisest king of Israel and perhaps the wisest man who ever lived said that all of the wisdom and knowledge he attained led to pain and despair.
It reminds me of something I’ve said before and perhaps you’ve said it, too.  We’ll say something to the effect of, “The more I know, the more I realize that I don’t know.”  I think that the more we learn and the more knowledge we attain, the more we realize just how limited in scope and understanding we are.  We also discover that having knowledge and understanding does not satisfy the questions of our minds, hearts and souls.  We long for more than information for our brains.  We want meaning for our lives.  We can know all kinds of things, but our hearts long to experience love.  Knowing that God is love is so different than experiencing His love through a relationship with Him.  We can know lots of facts about Theology and we can know lots of Bible verses about God, but unless we know God through His Son, Jesus Christ, our pursuits of knowledge and wisdom are fruitless.  Do not be satisfied with mere facts and figures.  Pursue a relationship with the One who is pursuing you.  Then you will discover the joy of a life filled with God’s love.

Ecclesiastes 1:12-18 (NIV)

I, the Teacher, was king over Israel in Jerusalem. 13 I applied my mind to study and to explore by wisdom all that is done under the heavens. What a heavy burden God has laid on mankind! 14 I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

15 What is crooked cannot be straightened;
    what is lacking cannot be counted.

16 I said to myself, “Look, I have increased in wisdom more than anyone who has ruled over Jerusalem before me; I have experienced much of wisdom and knowledge.” 17 Then I applied myself to the understanding of wisdom, and also of madness and folly, but I learned that this, too, is a chasing after the wind.

18 For with much wisdom comes much sorrow;
    the more knowledge, the more grief.

1 Response to “The Grief Of Knowledge”


  1. 1 Denise Kelley
    12.31.2009 at 9:46 AM

    New series on Ecclesiastics. hope you enjoy this. Sending yesterdays and todays.

    Denise~

    Don’t get sick!!!


Leave a Reply

