02
Mar
15

Starstruck

Who is your hero?  Who inspires you?  Who would you like to meet in person?  If you could meet one person from the past or present, who would it be?  If you could sit down with them for 30 minutes and pick their brain, what would you say?  What would you do if you suddenly ran into your hero at the airport or at the grocery store?  How would you respond if you met that one famous person that you admire more than any other?   If you bumped into that actress or actor or musician or author that inspires you, how would you act?  What would you say?  Would you be able to say anything?  Would you get nervous with sweaty palms and develop a stuttering problem?  Would you be confident and say something witty and memorable?  Would you faint like the teenage girls in those old videos of The Beatles on the Ed Sullivan Show?

I would like to meet Bono from the band U2.  I love their music and I love his desire to help people.  I love the fact that he openly talks about his faith and writes songs like “Yahweh” and “Grace” and “Gloria” and “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For.”  I don’t know what I would say.  I don’t know how I would act if we bumped into each other.  I just know that I would like to meet him face to face.

I would like to meet Max Lucado.  He’s one of my preaching heroes.  I love the way he preaches and writes.  I would love to ask him how he does it.  One of the most inspiring books I have ever read is “He Still Moves Stones”.  It changed my life and the way I think about Jesus.  I began to better understand God’s grace and love when I finished that book.  It is one of the few books I recommend to people when they ask me what they should read.

I would like to meet Brett Favre.  First, I want to thank him for all of the memories I have of him winning games for the Packers.  I also want to scream at him for going to the Vikings!  But maybe I’ll do that upon our 2nd meeting.  I would tell him that I really admired the way he played the game of football.  I would thank him for the Super Bowl season back in 1996.  It’s one of my favorite memories.

I am going to meet Jesus.  I don’t know how I’ll respond.  I don’t know what I will say.  I just know that I am going to meet Him one day.  It’s not because of any great things I have done.  It’s not because I preached a bunch of really great sermons or anything like that.  It’s not because I’m so special and wonderful.  It’s because of God’s awesome love and grace that He poured out on me.  It’s that free gift of love that Jesus gave to me on the cross when He died for my sins.  I don’t deserve it.  I can’t earn it.  I can’t buy it.  I can’t be good enough for it.  I can only accept it by faith.  I think that the first thing I will try to get out of my mouth is the word, “Thanks.”  After that, I will have trillions of years to express my love and gratitude to the One who gave His life for me.

0 Responses to “Starstruck”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

